The Right Approach For The Right Situation

11 is the magic number in the Pennsylvania points system

On Behalf of | Sep 19, 2022 | DUI Defense

When drivers receive moving violations, they pay fines and acquire points on their driving records. These points help the state monitor habitually bad drivers.

Points accumulate over time, and drivers may suddenly find themselves without a license if they get too many.

Acquiring 11 points

Moving violations range from two to five points, depending on severity. The points can quickly add up to 11 or more if drivers receive multiple tickets over a short time. When drivers reach 11 points, the state requires an automatic suspension of their licenses. The length depends on whether the drivers have previous suspensions. Penalties are:

  • Five days per point for the first suspension
  • 10 days per point for the second suspension
  • 15 days per point for the third suspension
  • One year for any additional suspensions

Restoring driving privileges

When drivers lose their licenses, they must surrender the physical cards to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PDOT). They may need to pay fees to the courts and must refrain from driving during this time. Once the suspension expires and drivers receive their licenses back from the PDOT, they can drive again.

Removing points

After suspensions, five points remain on drivers’ records. Once 12 months pass without any additional moving violations, the state automatically removes three points. This process continues until the points return to zero.

To avoid losing driving privileges, drivers should know how many points are on their records and avoid accumulating too many. Recognizing that excessive points can lead to suspensions may encourage drivers to practice safe driving techniques.