When Pennsylvania residents commit moving violations, points are added to their driving records. Minor violations like driving too fast for prevailing conditions or exceeding the posted speed limit by 10 mph or less carry two points, but more serious motor vehicle offenses carry up to five points. When a Pennsylvania driver’s license holder does not commit any moving violations for 12 months, three points are removed from their driving record. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation takes action when drivers accumulate six points.
First accumulation of six points
Pennsylvania motorists under the age of 18 lose their driving privileges for 90 days in when they accumulate six or more points, but older drivers are able to avoid a suspension by taking and passing a written test. The test covers matters including safe driving practices and the penalties motorists can face for committing serious traffic violations. Drivers are sent a notification by mail that gives them 30 days to take the test, and two points are removed from their driving records if they pass.
Subsequent accumulations of six points
Motorists in Pennsylvania who accumulate six or more points on their driving records after taking the written test face more serious sanctions. A second six-point accumulation will trigger a DOT hearing that usually leads to a 15-day driver’s license suspension. The hearing examiner may also order the motorist to undergo additional training or take a driving test. A third six-point accumulation is usually punished by a 30-day driver’s license suspension. Motorists who accumulate 11 or more points can lose their driving privileges for up to a year.
The driver’s license points system is designed to improve driving behavior and protect all road users. The best way to avoid accumulating points is to operate motor vehicles in a safe and responsible manner and follow traffic laws at all times. When drivers in Pennsylvania are ticketed for committing a moving violation, they should keep track of how many points are added to their records. When that figure reaches six, the DOT will take action.